Nomination period open for 2017 Susan B. Anthony Awards

The Commission for Women invites members of the campus community to nominate candidates for the Susan B. Anthony Campus Award and Community Award. The awards will be presented at the Commission for Women’s Susan B. Anthony Campus and Community Awards Ceremony on April 4, 2017.

Each year, the awards recognize individuals whose life and deeds exemplify the dedication, fortitude, political agitation and involvement of Susan B. Anthony on behalf of women. The first Susan B. Anthony Campus Award was presented at a luncheon in 1979. The Susan B. Anthony Community Award was established in 2004.

The candidate for the Susan B Anthony Campus Award should be a member of the extended UM-Dearborn campus community (current faculty, staff, student, graduate or supporter of the UM-Dearborn campus community). The candidate for the Susan B Anthony Community Award should be a member of the extended community.

Awards committee members are looking for individuals who:

  • Serve as a role model for women or girls, based on professional accomplishments and/or contributions on behalf of women on the Dearborn campus,
  • Are directly involved in enhancing the status or well-being of women or girls,
  • Are actively involved in the promotion of equal rights for women.

Award nominations must be submitted no later than Friday, February 24, 2017, to: Bonnie Beyer,, C23 Fairlane Center South. For more information, contact Barbara Bolek at or 313-593-5401.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *